The Education Alliance is governed by a visionary Board of Directors whose members represent small businesses, state government, education, corporations and local communities from all across West Virginia.

Executive Committee

Mallie Combs, Chairman of the Board, Executive Director, Hardy County Rural Economic Development Authority (Moorefield, WV)

Brett Staples, Vice-Chairman of the Board, Senior Managing Director, Financial Advisor, BB&T Scott & Stringfellow (Charleston, WV)

Ralph Baxter, Treasurer, Advisor, Writer, and Speaker on the Legal Profession at Ralph Baxter (Wheeling, WV)

Christina Brumley, Secretary, Attorney, Jackson Kelly, PLLC (Charleston, WV)

Sammy Gray, Research and Outreach Committee Chairman, Director of State Affairs, FirstEnergy (Charleston, WV)

James Thomas, Nominating & Governance Committee Chairman, Member, Jackson Kelly PLLC (Charleston, WV)

Amelia Davis Courts, President/CEO, The Education Alliance (Charleston, WV)

Michelle Wittekind,  Member-At-Large, Vice President & Regional Manager, United Bank, Inc. (Charleston, WV)

Board of Directors

Chris Beam, President/COO, Appalachian Power (Charleston, WV)

Craig Baker, Partner/Architecture Division Manager, The Thrasher Group (Fairmont, WV)

Thomas Campbell, President, West Virginia Board of Education (Lewisburg, WV)

Leah Curry, President, Toyota Motor Manufacturing, WV (Buffalo, WV)

Jo Carol Farmer, Manager-Regulation, Dominion Hope  (Clarksburg, WV)

Andy Feeney, External Affairs Director - West Virginia, AT&T (Charleston, WV)

Kevin Fowler, President & CEO, Cabell Huntington Hospital (Huntington, WV)

Margie Hale, Retired Executive, WV Kids Count Fund (Charleston, WV)

MaryLu Hutchins, Ed.D., Director, Fluency Project,  Carnegie Mellon University Create Lab (Wheeling, WV)

Adam Krason, Principal and Architect, ZMM Architects & Engineers (Charleston, WV

Joe Letnauchyn, President/CEO, West Virginia Hospital Association (Charleston, WV)

Carolyn Long, Campus President, WVU Institute of Technology (Montogmery, WV)

Beth Maley, Vice President-Commercial Banking, BB&T (Charleston, WV)

Erica Mani, Regional Chief Executive Officer, American Red Cross (Cross Lanes, WV)

Dr. Steven Paine, State Superintendent of Schools, West Virginia Department of Education (Charleston, WV)

Dan Page, Director of Marketing, West Virginia Health Care Association (Charleston, WV)

Toni Poling, 2017 West Virginia Teacher of the Year, Fairmont Senior High School (Fairmont, WV)

Jessie Reckart, Associate, Bowles Rice LLP (Charleston, WV)

Stephen Roberts, President, WV Chamber of Commerce (Charleston, WV)

Scott Rotruck, Director of Energy & Transportation Services, Spilman, Thomas & Battle PLLC (Morgantown, WV)

James Shupe, Vice President - Business Banking, JP Morgan Chase (Charleston, WV)


Directors Emeritus

Governor Gaston Caperton
Dr. Daniel Foster
Stephen Hopta
Despina "Dee" Kapourales
Dr. Priscilla Leavitt
Former First Lady Gayle Manchin
Jeri Matheney
Joseph McDonie
Lacy Rice, Jr.
Sharon Rowe
Howard Seufer, Jr.
Herchiel Sims, Jr.
L. Newton Thomas, Jr.
First Lady Joanne Jaegar Tomblin